Comparison
I tried and researched 17 SAT prep resources. Here's how they compare.
The best SAT prep, free and paid, scored on one rubric. I spent a year stuck in the low 1200s looking for something that worked, then built the one I wished I’d had.
Start with the free official tools: Bluebook for full-length tests and the Student Question Bank for practice. Then add one thing for what you actually need.
- Just starting out. Khan Academy teaches every skill on the test, free.
- Stuck at the same score. Use something that names the question types costing you points and gives you a method for each: Perfect1600 (ours) or PrepScholar.
- You know the weak area and want reps. Perfect1600 (ours) filters practice down to a single question type and its difficulty; the free Question Bank stops at skill, and UWorld explains every answer choice.
- English conventions. Erica Meltzer, rule by rule.
- Math speed and Desmos. Perfect1600 puts a Desmos tip and a ready-made graph on about 1,500 questions and drills the 12 techniques; 1600.io teaches Desmos as a course.
- You want a person. Schoolhouse.world is free; The Princeton Review if you can pay for a class.
Not sure which of these fits you?
For most of last year my SAT score sat in the low 1200s. I did what everyone says to do: Bluebook, Khan Academy, practice test after practice test. When that stopped working I went looking for something better, and a lot of that year went into reading reviews, trying free tiers, buying books and signing up for courses.
Almost every tool could tell me I got a question wrong. Almost none could tell me why I kept getting that kind of question wrong. That gap is why I built Perfect1600. The longer version is on our about page.
This is that search, updated for September 2026, with every price current as of this month.
I built one of these, so read this first
Perfect1600 is mine, and it’s in this comparison. It comes out on top at 4.05 out of 5, with PrepScholar next at 3.55. You should be suspicious of that, so here’s what I did about it.
- Every resource is scored on the same rubric, and every score is in the matrix. If you disagree with a weight, you can redo the math.
- Perfect1600’s review lists where it’s weak: no humans, a short track record, and no phone app.
Perfect1600 scores well mostly because the rubric weights diagnosis and teaching heavily. Those are the two things I built it to do, and the next section explains why I think they matter most. If live help or track record matters more to you, the matrix shows which tools come out ahead.
One thing no comparison can tell you, this one included, is whether a tool raises scores. No company here, mine included, publishes independent before-and-after data, so every point-gain number in SAT prep marketing is self-reported or comes with conditions.
What I was looking for
Ten things, each scored 1 to 5, weighted to add up to 100. The weights come from one finding. College Board’s own 2025 study found that students who took one, two, and three or more Bluebook practice tests scored about 26, 46 and 61 points higher than similar students who took none. That’s real, but it’s small next to the jump I needed, and College Board says the numbers aren’t causal.
Taking tests shows you where you are. Moving the score takes knowing which question types you keep missing and having a method for each. So diagnosis and teaching carry the most weight, along with realism, because practice that doesn’t match the test trains you for the wrong one.
| Criterion | Weight | A 5 means | A 1 means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Question realism | 15 | Official College Board questions, or ones you couldn't tell apart from them | Off format, or the wrong difficulty curve |
| Question bank depth | 10 | 4,000 or more questions you can filter by skill and difficulty | A few hundred, or a fixed set of tests |
| Diagnosis | 15 | Names the exact question types you miss, and why | A percentage per section |
| Teaching | 15 | A method for each question type that carries over to new questions | An answer key |
| Explanations | 10 | Every answer choice explained, wrong ones included | The right answer only |
| Score tracking | 5 | A projected score that moves as you practice | Nothing |
| Full-length tests | 10 | Plenty of adaptive tests that behave like Bluebook | No timed full tests |
| Human help | 5 | Live classes or tutors included | You're on your own |
| Value | 10 | Free, or under $150 a year with strong features | $1,000 or more |
| Track record | 5 | Years in business, plenty of public reviews, clear pricing | New, few public reviews, unclear pricing |
Quick picks
- Best free
- Bluebook and the Question Bank. The real test's questions on the real testing app.
- Learning the skills from scratch
- Khan Academy. Free lessons for every skill on the test.
- Finding what costs you points
- Perfect1600. Mine, so apply the disclosure. PrepScholar is the strongest alternative.
- Explanations
- UWorld. Every answer choice explained, with visuals.
- A structured course
- PrepScholar. A plan built from a 45-skill diagnostic.
- Math at the top end
- 1600.io. Video solutions for official questions, and the Orange Book.
- English conventions and grammar
- Erica Meltzer. Rule by rule, trap by trap.
- Drilling one exact question type
- Perfect1600. Ours. Filters to one of 77 types and its difficulty, where the official bank stops at skill.
- Free drilling by skill
- The Student Question Bank. Official questions, filtered by skill and difficulty.
- Desmos and Math speed
- Perfect1600. Ours. A tip and a ready-made graph on about 1,500 questions, plus a drill for the 12 techniques.
- A live class
- The Princeton Review. More practice per dollar than the other live options.
- Free live help
- Schoolhouse.world. Small groups taught by students who scored 700+.
Prices and specs at a glance
| Resource | Price | Full-length tests | Questions | Guarantee | Live help |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Perfect1600 (ours) | Free tier. Pro is $19.99 a month, or a one-time SAT Pass from $24.99. | 7 adaptive (2 on the free plan), plus 3 Intel Tests on Pro | 6,700+ | Yes, if you start at 1400 or below, test 90+ days out, and do the practice in your plan | No, the tutor is AI |
| PrepScholar | $397 a year; live classes $895; tutoring from $995 | 8 (College Board's own, taken in Bluebook) | 4,100+ | +160 points or a refund, with conditions | Only on the $895 plan or tutoring |
| 1600.io | $19.99 a month or $99.99 a year | None of its own (explains official tests) | 1,200+ Math, plus 6,000+ video explanations | No | Live group classes, recorded |
| Bluebook and the Student Question Bank | Free | 8 adaptive (Practice Tests 4 to 11) | Thousands (no official count) | Not applicable | No |
| UWorld College Prep | $99 for 30 days, up to $449 for a year | 1 fixed, plus up to 9 generated adaptive | 1,700+ | No | No |
| The Princeton Review | Self-paced $299; live Essentials about $950; 1400+ about $2,199 | 5 adaptive (self-paced), 9 on live courses | Thousands | Yes, with a baseline score rule by course | 18 hours of live class on Essentials |
| Khan Academy (Official Digital SAT Prep) | Free | None on Khan (it sends you to Bluebook) | Over 1,000 Math, hundreds of Reading and Writing | No | No |
| Miyagi Labs | Free plan; Premium from about $14.99 a month | Full-length exams, count and adaptivity not stated | 1,000+ free; 10,000+ claimed on Premium | No | No, AI tutor |
| Magoosh SAT | $129 a year ($399 with on-demand classes) | Up to 3 | 2,500+ | +100 points, only from 1350 or below | Email help; recorded classes on the $399 plan |
| OnePrep | Free plan; seasonal passes about $71 to $135 | 1 free; 6 plus 4 predicted papers on Pro | 500 free; 4,000+ on paid passes | Money back on paid passes (terms not published) | No, AI chat |
| Acely | $49 to $149 a month | 30 SAT tests, adaptivity not stated | 15,000+ across SAT and ACT | +200 points, strict conditions | No, AI tutor |
| Schoolhouse.world SAT bootcamps | Free | Official tests used in class | Official material, no bank of its own | No | Yes, groups of up to 10 |
| Kaplan | On Demand about $199; Live Online about $799 | 4 adaptive | 500+ | Higher Score Guarantee (terms not published) | 18 hours of live class on Live Online |
| Erica Meltzer's books | About $24 to $26 per book | 3 Reading and Writing tests, fixed easy-then-hard path | Practice sets in each book | No | No |
| Prep Expert | Courses $696 to $1,696; Unlimited Prep $3,076 | About one official test a week in class | Not published | +200 points on 6 to 8 week courses, capped at 1450 | Yes, 3-hour classes twice a week |
| The College Panda | $23.99 for the Math guide | None updated for the digital SAT | 500+ Math, grouped by topic | No | No |
| Gemini SAT practice | Free with a Google account | Full-length, count not stated, not truly adaptive | Generated on request | No | No, AI chat |
Prices as of September 2026. Seasonal passes and promotions change often.
Grouped by what kind of thing each one is, with its price beside it, two things stand out. Bluebook alone outscores 10 of the 13 paid options, so paying is not what raises a score. And live classes, the most expensive group by a distance, are beaten by the best tool in 3 of the other 5 groups.
The scoring matrix
Every digital SAT prep resource here, scored 1 to 5 on all ten criteria. The last column weights those scores by the rubric above.
| Resource | Realism | Depth | Diagnosis | Teaching | Explain | Tracking | Tests | Humans | Value | Record | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Perfect1600 (ours) | 4 | 5 | 4 | 5 | 4 | 5 | 4 | 1 | 4 | 2 | 4.05 |
| PrepScholar | 3 | 5 | 4 | 4 | 3 | 3 | 4 | 1 | 3 | 4 | 3.55 |
| 1600.io | 4 | 3 | 2 | 5 | 5 | 1 | 1 | 3 | 5 | 4 | 3.45 |
| Bluebook and the Student Question Bank | 5 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 2 | 4 | 1 | 5 | 5 | 3.40 |
| UWorld College Prep | 4 | 3 | 3 | 3 | 5 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 3 | 4 | 3.35 |
| The Princeton Review | 3 | 3 | 3 | 4 | 3 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 2 | 4 | 3.30 |
| Khan Academy (Official Digital SAT Prep) | 4 | 3 | 2 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 5 | 5 | 3.10 |
| Miyagi Labs * | 2 | 5 | 3 | 3 | 3 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 2 | 3.05 |
| Magoosh SAT | 3 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 5 | 3 | 3.00 |
| OnePrep | 3 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 | 3.00 |
| Acely | 3 | 5 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 2.95 |
| Schoolhouse.world SAT bootcamps | 4 | 1 | 1 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 2 | 5 | 5 | 4 | 2.80 |
| Kaplan * | 3 | 1 | 2 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 5 | 2 | 4 | 2.80 |
| Erica Meltzer's books | 3 | 1 | 1 | 5 | 3 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 4 | 2.75 |
| Prep Expert | 4 | 2 | 1 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 5 | 1 | 3 | 2.60 |
| The College Panda | 3 | 1 | 1 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 5 | 4 | 2.50 |
| Gemini SAT practice | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 3 | 2.40 |
* The company says little about what you get, so anything unclear scored low. Where a resource has several tiers, its review says which one is scored.
Best free SAT prep: Bluebook, the Question Bank and Khan Academy
The best free SAT prep is College Board’s own: Bluebook for full-length adaptive tests, the Student Question Bank for targeted practice, and Khan Academy for learning the skills. Nothing paid is more realistic, because nothing else uses questions from the people who write the test.
Bluebook and the Student Question Bank
Free · Official site
- Realism5 out of 5
- Depth4 out of 5
- Diagnosis2 out of 5
- Teaching1 out of 5
- Explain5 out of 5
- Tracking2 out of 5
- Tests4 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record5 out of 5
- Best for
- Everyone. These are the only full-length tests made by the people who write the real SAT, on the same app you test in.
- What it does well
- Bluebook runs College Board's own practice tests on the exact app you use on test day, and they adapt the same way: how you do on Module 1 decides whether Module 2 is harder or easier. The explanations cover every answer choice, wrong ones included. The Student Question Bank adds thousands of official questions you can filter by skill and difficulty, and My Practice will pull a set from it based on your test result.
- Where it falls short
- There are eight full-length SAT tests, numbered 4 to 11, and College Board hasn't announced a ninth. Retaking one mostly tests your memory. The score report stops at the domain level, four per section, so it tells you Algebra is weak but not which kind of algebra question you keep missing. Nothing here teaches a method. You get the answer and why it's right, not how to spot the next one.
- Skip it if
- Never skip it. Ration the tests instead, and save at least two for the last month.
Verdict: Every plan in this article starts here. Everything else is judged on what it adds to Bluebook.
Khan Academy (Official Digital SAT Prep)
Free · Official site
- Realism4 out of 5
- Depth3 out of 5
- Diagnosis2 out of 5
- Teaching4 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking2 out of 5
- Tests1 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record5 out of 5
- Best for
- Students under about 1200 who need the skills taught before drilling makes sense.
- What it does well
- It teaches. Every skill has short videos, worked examples and practice that moves you on as you show mastery, and it was built with College Board, so it follows the test's own skill list. The Reading and Writing course was rebuilt in March 2025 and went from 5 units to 11.
- Where it falls short
- There are no full-length tests on Khan itself; you take those in Bluebook. The question sets per skill are short, so you can reach "mastered" after a handful of questions easier than the hard end of the real test. Progress is shown as mastery points, not a projected score. The often quoted "20 hours, 115 points" figure comes from the old score-linked product and the old paper SAT, and that product ended on December 31, 2023.
- Skip it if
- You already score 1350 or above and your misses are on hard questions, not on skills you never learned.
Verdict: The best free teacher on this list. It stops helping at about the point where your mistakes stop being about missing knowledge.
Free extras: Schoolhouse and Gemini
Two more free options, neither run by College Board itself. Schoolhouse.world runs live bootcamps, now in partnership with College Board, and Google’s Gemini will give you full-length practice tests in its chat app.
Schoolhouse.world SAT bootcamps
Free · Official site
- Realism4 out of 5
- Depth1 out of 5
- Diagnosis1 out of 5
- Teaching3 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking1 out of 5
- Tests2 out of 5
- Humans5 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record4 out of 5
- Best for
- Students scoring between 400 and 690 per section who study better on a schedule with other people.
- What it does well
- A bootcamp runs four weeks, twice a week, 75 minutes a session, with at most ten students. The tutors are high school students and recent graduates with a verified 700 or higher on the section they teach, and they work from official College Board material. College Board made the partnership formal in February 2026, and more than 118,000 students had signed up for the pilot bootcamps before that.
- Where it falls short
- Quality depends on who you get, since the tutors are volunteers. It's a class, not a practice tool, so there's no question bank of its own, no analytics and no score tracking. The bootcamps are aimed at students below 700 per section, not at the last 100 points.
- Skip it if
- You're already above 700 in a section, or you need to set your own pace and hours.
Verdict: If you want a real person teaching you for free, this is the only option here.
Gemini SAT practice
Free with a Google account · Official site
- Realism2 out of 5
- Depth2 out of 5
- Diagnosis2 out of 5
- Teaching2 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking2 out of 5
- Tests2 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record3 out of 5
- Best for
- An extra full-length test once Bluebook runs out, as long as you take the score loosely.
- What it does well
- It's free, and you can ask follow-up questions about any answer in plain language. Google launched it in January 2026 with content from The Princeton Review, and it hands you a study plan after each test.
- Where it falls short
- College Board isn't a partner, and it shows. The early tests had Math typos that made questions unsolvable, topics the SAT doesn't test (logarithms, imaginary numbers, the law of cosines), no highlighter, eliminator or Desmos, and a Module 2 that got easier after a strong Module 1, the opposite of how the real test routes you. The explanations list steps rather than teach the idea.
- Skip it if
- You still have Bluebook tests left, or you're using the score to decide if you're ready.
Verdict: Fine as a free extra and for asking questions. I wouldn't trust its score or make it the main thing I practiced on.
Best SAT prep books
The best SAT prep books teach one section deeply. Erica Meltzer is the standard for Reading and Writing, The College Panda for Math. Neither can tell you what to study, so they work best once you know.
Erica Meltzer's books
About $24 to $26 per book · Official site
- Realism3 out of 5
- Depth1 out of 5
- Diagnosis1 out of 5
- Teaching5 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking1 out of 5
- Tests2 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record4 out of 5
- Best for
- Students past 1300 who want the Reading and Writing rules taught properly, in order, by someone who knows them cold.
- What it does well
- The Critical Reader and The Ultimate Guide to SAT Grammar, both updated in March 2025, are the most thorough Reading and Writing teaching on this list: rule by rule, question type by question type, with the traps named. The grammar book includes five full practice sets. The two books together come to about $52.
- Where it falls short
- It's Reading and Writing only. A book can't score you or tell you what to work on, so you have to know that already. The separate test book has three Reading and Writing tests on a fixed easy-then-hard path rather than an adaptive one, and it came out in 2023, before College Board's newer practice tests. The publisher doesn't say every wrong answer is explained.
- Skip it if
- Your points are leaking in Math, or you don't yet know which Reading and Writing question types cost you. Diagnose first.
Verdict: The deepest Reading and Writing teaching per dollar here. It scores low overall because a book can't diagnose, track or simulate, and the rubric counts those.
The College Panda
$23.99 for the Math guide · Official site
- Realism3 out of 5
- Depth1 out of 5
- Diagnosis1 out of 5
- Teaching4 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking1 out of 5
- Tests1 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record4 out of 5
- Best for
- Students aiming at 700+ in Math who want every topic taught in one book.
- What it does well
- SAT Math: Advanced Guide and Workbook was rewritten from scratch for the digital SAT. It teaches topic by topic, with 500+ practice questions grouped by topic, explanations, and Desmos tips. You can also read it in a browser.
- Where it falls short
- It's Math only. The practice-test book and the Writing book were written for the old SAT and haven't been updated, and the publisher itself says to use the test book as a question bank rather than as timed tests. There's no score, no analytics and nothing to tell you which topics to start with.
- Skip it if
- You need Reading and Writing help, or timed full-length Math practice.
Verdict: A solid Math teacher in book form. Buy the Math guide, and skip the other titles until they're updated for the digital SAT.
Best SAT prep courses (self-paced)
A course sells you a curriculum: lessons, a big bank, and a plan you work through on your own schedule. PrepScholar is the most complete, UWorld has the best explanations, 1600.io has the strongest Math teaching, and Magoosh is the cheapest. All four leave part of the diagnosis to you.
PrepScholar
$397 a year; live classes $895; tutoring from $995 · Official site
- Realism3 out of 5
- Depth5 out of 5
- Diagnosis4 out of 5
- Teaching4 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking3 out of 5
- Tests4 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value3 out of 5
- Record4 out of 5
- Best for
- Students who want a structured course that picks the next lesson for them, with a real guarantee behind it.
- What it does well
- It starts with a 60-question diagnostic across 45 skills, builds your plan from it, and keeps breaking your results down across those same 45 skills. There are 90 skill lessons and 4,100+ practice questions, the biggest bank of the courses here. The guarantee is 160 points or your money back, and there's a five-day refund with no questions asked.
- Where it falls short
- The eight practice tests are College Board's free Bluebook tests, which you can take anyway. The lessons are text-heavy. The $397 plan has no instructor contact at all; live help starts at $895. The guarantee needs a prior SAT or PSAT, every assigned lesson finished, and the SAT taken within 60 days of finishing.
- Skip it if
- You want a person teaching you, or you'd mostly be paying for tests that are already free.
Verdict: The strongest all-round course here, and second overall. The diagnosis is close to question-type level; what it doesn't show is why a particular mistake keeps happening.
1600.io
$19.99 a month or $99.99 a year · Official site
- Realism4 out of 5
- Depth3 out of 5
- Diagnosis2 out of 5
- Teaching5 out of 5
- Explain5 out of 5
- Tracking1 out of 5
- Tests1 out of 5
- Humans3 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record4 out of 5
- Best for
- Math-heavy students aiming at 1500+ who learn best by watching someone solve a question the fast way.
- What it does well
- Over 6,000 video explanations of official College Board questions, plus the Orange Book: 1,200+ digital-SAT-style Math problems with written, video and Desmos solutions for every one. The Desmos course is excellent. The membership also includes live classes, all recorded. At $99.99 a year it's one of the cheapest paid options here.
- Where it falls short
- It has no practice tests of its own and no adaptive simulation, and its video explanations cover the digital tests only up to Test 6, not the newer Tests 7 to 11. Reading and Writing is thinner than Math, with no drill bank. There's no score tracking, and it feels like a video library, because it mostly is one.
- Skip it if
- Your points are leaking in Reading and Writing, or you need something to tell you what to study.
Verdict: For Math teaching at the top end, the strongest option here. Pair it with something that tells you where to point it.
UWorld College Prep
$99 for 30 days, up to $449 for a year · Official site
- Realism4 out of 5
- Depth3 out of 5
- Diagnosis3 out of 5
- Teaching3 out of 5
- Explain5 out of 5
- Tracking4 out of 5
- Tests3 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value3 out of 5
- Record4 out of 5
- Best for
- Students who learn from explanations and want a well-built bank to drill.
- What it does well
- Every question gets a step-by-step explanation with visuals, and the wrong answers are explained too. The interface copies Bluebook closely, down to the calculator panel and the answer eliminator. It shows accuracy by topic, time per question, the share of other students who got each question right, and a predicted score range that updates after every session. Its Math runs a little harder than the real test.
- Where it falls short
- It's priced by time. The cheapest plan is $99 for 30 days, and a year costs $249 for the question bank or $449 for the course. There's one fixed full-length test; the other nine are generated from the same bank you have been drilling. Analytics stop at the topic level. Bank questions have no video explanations, and there's no human help.
- Skip it if
- You need topics taught from scratch. The question bank explains answers; the lessons are in the pricier course plans.
Verdict: The best explanations of any paid tool here. It tells you what you got wrong more clearly than why you keep getting it wrong.
Magoosh SAT
$129 a year ($399 with on-demand classes) · Official site
- Realism3 out of 5
- Depth3 out of 5
- Diagnosis2 out of 5
- Teaching3 out of 5
- Explain4 out of 5
- Tracking3 out of 5
- Tests2 out of 5
- Humans2 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record3 out of 5
- Best for
- A beginner on a budget who wants a full course for a year.
- What it does well
- For $129 you get a year of access, 2,500+ questions, video lessons, and a video or text explanation for every question. There's a seven-day free trial, a score predictor, and email help from tutors. The $399 plan adds 18 hours of recorded classes.
- Where it falls short
- Three full-length tests is thin, and Magoosh doesn't say whether they adapt the way Bluebook does. The questions feel less like the real thing than UWorld's, and the lessons lean on general concepts more than SAT-specific moves. The analytics are basic. The +100 guarantee only applies if you already have an official SAT of 1350 or below from the last five years, and you have to finish every lesson.
- Skip it if
- You're above about 1350. The course is pitched below where your points are.
Verdict: Good value for a first pass through the material. It won't do much for a plateau past 1350.
Live classes and tutoring
Live classes buy you a teacher and a schedule, and that’s most of what they’re worth: the practice material is close to what self-paced tools offer for a fraction of the price. I didn’t take any of these classes, so weigh these three reviews a little lighter than the rest.
The Princeton Review
Self-paced $299; live Essentials about $950; 1400+ about $2,199 · Official site
- Realism3 out of 5
- Depth3 out of 5
- Diagnosis3 out of 5
- Teaching4 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking3 out of 5
- Tests4 out of 5
- Humans5 out of 5
- Value2 out of 5
- Record4 out of 5
- Best for
- Students who need a live class on a schedule, in a family willing to pay for one.
- What it does well
- Essentials is 18 hours of live class over three or six weeks, with nine full-length digital tests. The self-paced course has five adaptive tests built to look like Bluebook, with Desmos built in. Each test report shows which question categories cost you the most points, and the Better Scores guarantee covers every tier.
- Where it falls short
- The price climbs fast, and it isn't listed up front: expect about $950 for Essentials and around $2,199 for the 1400+ course. Explanations are text only. Students argue about whether its tests run harder than Bluebook and whether its score conversions are harsher. The 1400+ guarantee needs a starting score of 1250 or higher.
- Skip it if
- You're disciplined enough to study alone. Most of what you pay for is the live class.
Verdict: Scored on Essentials, it's the best-rounded live option here. If you can keep to a schedule alone, the $299 self-paced course gets you most of the material.
Kaplan
On Demand about $199; Live Online about $799 · Official site
- Realism3 out of 5
- Depth1 out of 5
- Diagnosis2 out of 5
- Teaching4 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking2 out of 5
- Tests3 out of 5
- Humans5 out of 5
- Value2 out of 5
- Record4 out of 5
- Best for
- Students who want a live class and don't need a large question bank.
- What it does well
- The live teaching is well reviewed: 18 hours over nine two-hour sessions, with one instructor teaching and a second running the chat. There are four adaptive full-length tests and a report on your strengths and weaknesses. Kaplan has been in test prep longer than anyone else here.
- Where it falls short
- About 500 questions is a small bank for $799, and most explanations are text; video is only on quiz questions. Prices move around with frequent discounts, and the guarantee's fine print is hard to pin down before you pay. Students disagree on whether its tests are harder or easier than Bluebook.
- Skip it if
- You want to drill a lot of questions. The bank runs out quickly.
Verdict: Between the two big live brands, Princeton Review gives you more practice for the money. Pick Kaplan if its class times or teaching style suit you better.
Prep Expert
Courses $696 to $1,696; Unlimited Prep $3,076 · Official site
- Realism4 out of 5
- Depth2 out of 5
- Diagnosis1 out of 5
- Teaching4 out of 5
- Explain2 out of 5
- Tracking1 out of 5
- Tests3 out of 5
- Humans5 out of 5
- Value1 out of 5
- Record3 out of 5
- Best for
- Students who respond to energetic, strategy-first live teaching and can afford it.
- What it does well
- Live classes twice a week, three hours each, built around a strategy system, using official retired questions and a full practice test roughly every week. The top plan bundles a year of unlimited live courses with ten hours of one-on-one tutoring.
- Where it falls short
- It's expensive, and the classes are the same for everyone rather than aimed at your weak spots. There are no score analytics to speak of. Video answer explanations cost extra. The 200-point guarantee needs a starting score of 1250 or lower and is capped at 1450, and there are Better Business Bureau complaints about refund disputes.
- Skip it if
- You're already above 1450, where the guarantee stops, or you want practice aimed at your own mistakes.
Verdict: The price buys a schedule and a motivating teacher. Nothing in it adjusts to you.
Best SAT prep apps and practice platforms
The best SAT prep apps are really practice platforms: a big question bank, analytics that read your answers, and enough reps to move your score. An AI tutor usually sits on top, and that is the small part. The line against a course is thin in two places, and I put both on the course side: PrepScholar builds your plan from a 45-skill diagnostic, and UWorld is a question bank with analytics on top. The range here runs from a big free bank (Miyagi Labs) to $149 a month (Acely). Perfect1600 is in this group, and it’s mine.
Perfect1600 (ours)
Free tier. Pro is $19.99 a month, or a one-time SAT Pass from $24.99. · Try it free
- Realism4 out of 5
- Depth5 out of 5
- Diagnosis4 out of 5
- Teaching5 out of 5
- Explain4 out of 5
- Tracking5 out of 5
- Tests4 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value4 out of 5
- Record2 out of 5
- Best for
- Any student past about 1200 who needs to know which question types are costing them points, and a method for each.
- What it does well
- It tracks your accuracy on each of 77 question types and shows your three weakest on your dashboard, each with a one-click drill and a written method. Practice filters go the same depth: one question type out of 77, one difficulty, one source, where the official Question Bank stops at skill and difficulty. About 1,500 questions carry a Desmos tip with the graph already set up, and a drill mode covers the 12 techniques worth knowing. Every multiple-choice question explains each answer choice. About 40% of the bank is official College Board questions and the rest are original questions we create. Full tests route you into an easier or harder Module 2 based on how Module 1 went, the way Bluebook does, and your predicted score moves as you practice. The diagnosis, the methods and the drills are on the free plan; Pro lifts the caps and adds the deeper analytics.
- Where it falls short
- There are no humans. The tutor is AI with a daily cap, and support is a contact form. We're new, so there's no long record of other people's reviews to check us against. More than half the questions are ours rather than College Board's. It tracks which question types you miss, but not yet the kind of mistake you made. The free plan combines only two filters at a time and caps a practice session at 10 questions. It runs in a browser with no phone app, and Intel Tests need Pro.
- Skip it if
- You're starting from scratch and need lessons first (start with Khan Academy), or you know you need a person holding you to a schedule.
Verdict: It scores highest here because diagnosis and teaching carry the most weight, and those are the two things I built it to do. It ties for the lowest score here on track record.
Miyagi Labs
Free plan; Premium from about $14.99 a month · Official site
- Realism2 out of 5
- Depth5 out of 5
- Diagnosis3 out of 5
- Teaching3 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking4 out of 5
- Tests2 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record2 out of 5
- Best for
- Students who want a big free bank and a score predictor without paying anything.
- What it does well
- The free plan has 1,000+ questions, a practice test a week, 25 AI tutor messages a week and performance tracking, with no card. Premium, at about $15 a month, claims 10,000+ questions, video lessons and an unlimited AI tutor. It predicts your score and points you at weak skills to drill.
- Where it falls short
- Miyagi advertises both 10,000+ and 16,000+ questions, and with a bank that size it's fair to ask how many match the real test's difficulty. It doesn't say how many full-length tests there are or whether they adapt. The +240 point average it advertises has nothing published behind it, and few people outside the company have written about it yet.
- Skip it if
- You care more about realism than volume. Bluebook and the official bank cover that.
Verdict: The most generous free tier among the apps. I'd use it for volume and check my level on official material.
OnePrep
Free plan; seasonal passes about $71 to $135 · Official site
- Realism3 out of 5
- Depth4 out of 5
- Diagnosis3 out of 5
- Teaching2 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking3 out of 5
- Tests3 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value5 out of 5
- Record2 out of 5
- Best for
- Students who want a cheap one-time pass for a single test date, with adaptive tests and a bank they can filter.
- What it does well
- The question bank filters by section, domain, skill and difficulty, and the full-length tests adapt with Bluebook-style timing and tools. The seasonal Pro pass, about $81 on sale, includes 4,000+ questions, six full-length tests, four predicted papers and unlimited AI walkthroughs. There's now an iOS app.
- Where it falls short
- It moved from free to freemium. The free plan shrank to 500 questions and one test, down from the 4,000+ free questions it used to be known for. Full explanations cost AI credits on the free plan, and skill-level analytics are Pro only.
- Skip it if
- Your test is more than one season away. Each pass runs through a set test date, so you'd end up buying two.
Verdict: Good value for one season of prep, and the adaptive tests are the best part of it.
Acely
$49 to $149 a month · Official site
- Realism3 out of 5
- Depth5 out of 5
- Diagnosis3 out of 5
- Teaching2 out of 5
- Explain3 out of 5
- Tracking4 out of 5
- Tests4 out of 5
- Humans1 out of 5
- Value2 out of 5
- Record2 out of 5
- Best for
- Students taking both the SAT and the ACT who want a very large set of full-length tests.
- What it does well
- Thirty full-length SAT tests is the most on this list, and the bank holds 15,000+ questions across the SAT and ACT. It says every question is written in-house with no AI generation. You get a diagnostic, score predictions, weak-spot detection and a study plan, and the free tier includes a skills assessment and one practice test.
- Where it falls short
- It's the most expensive app here: $49 a month on the annual plan ($588 a year), or $149 month to month. It doesn't say whether the tests adapt. The 200-point guarantee needs an official SAT of 1250 or lower from the last three months, 90 straight paid days, 500+ questions and ten full tests.
- Skip it if
- You're only taking the SAT. You'd be paying for an ACT bank you won't use.
Verdict: The most full-length tests on this list, at the highest app price. Worth it only if you'll actually take most of them.
Best SAT prep for 1500+, and every score below it
For 1500+, keep Bluebook and the official bank as your core, and add the deepest teaching you can find for the section holding you back: 1600.io for Math, Erica Meltzer for Reading and Writing. Below that, this is what I’d use at each starting score.
| Starting score | What I'd use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| 1000 to 1200 | Khan Academy for the skills, one Bluebook test as a baseline, and a Schoolhouse bootcamp if you want a class. | Most of your points are in skills you haven't learned yet. Drilling before that just repeats the same mistakes. |
| 1200 to 1350 | Bluebook and the Question Bank, plus one tool that diagnoses by question type (PrepScholar or Perfect1600). Then add a book or course for your weaker section. | This is where I was stuck. Category-level reports stop helping, and you need to know which kind of question keeps costing you. Why scores get stuck here. |
| 1350 to 1450 | Keep the tool that names your question types (PrepScholar or Perfect1600), and add a method source: UWorld for explanations, or Erica Meltzer and The College Panda for your weaker section. | Your misses are now medium and hard questions you half know. Explanations and methods matter more than volume. |
| 1450 and up | Official material as the core, 1600.io for Math, Erica Meltzer for Reading and Writing, and Desmos shortcuts for speed. | The points left are almost all on the hardest questions, so depth beats breadth. Keep the tool that names the types you still miss (PrepScholar or Perfect1600). |
| One month left | Your last two or three Bluebook tests, each reviewed properly, and drills on your top three question types. | Don't start a new course. A month is enough to fix a few leaks, not to learn a new system. |
Want this for your exact situation?
Questions people ask before choosing
What is the best free SAT prep?
Bluebook and the Student Question Bank, then Khan Academy. Bluebook has College Board's eight full-length adaptive tests on the real testing app, the Question Bank has thousands of official questions you can filter by skill and difficulty, and Khan teaches the skills underneath. Together they cost nothing and cover realism and teaching. What they lack is a diagnosis finer than the four content domains per section.
Is Khan Academy enough for the SAT?
It's enough to learn the skills, and for many students under about 1200 that's most of the work. Past that point it isn't enough on its own: there are no full-length tests on Khan, the practice per skill is short, and nothing tells you which question types you keep missing. Use it alongside Bluebook from the start, and add a tool that diagnoses by question type once your score stalls.
Is UWorld worth it for the SAT?
If explanations are how you learn, yes. Every answer choice is explained with visuals, the interface copies Bluebook, and the predicted score updates after each session. Buy the shortest plan that covers your test date, because pricing is by access time: $99 for 30 days, up to $449 for a year of the course. It's less worth it if what you need is a lesson plan or a person.
Is PrepScholar worth it?
It's the most complete self-paced course I looked at: a 45-skill diagnostic, 90 lessons and 4,100+ questions, with a 160-point guarantee. It's worth $397 if you want a program to follow and you'll finish it, since the guarantee depends on completing everything. It's less worth it if you'd mainly be paying for the eight practice tests, because those are College Board's free Bluebook tests.
What should I do after finishing all the Bluebook practice tests?
Stop taking full tests for a while and study your misses by question type. Retaking a Bluebook test mostly measures memory. Go back through every test you took, sort the wrong answers into types, and drill the three or four types that cost you the most using the Question Bank's skill and difficulty filters. When you want a fresh full-length test, take an adaptive one from a paid tool and read its score more loosely than Bluebook's.
Is paid SAT prep worth it?
Only once the free material stops telling you what to do next. The free official tools are the most realistic practice there is, so paying doesn't buy better questions. It buys a finer diagnosis, a method for each question type, more full-length tests, or a person. If you can't name which of those you're missing, you aren't ready to pay yet.
How many SAT practice tests should I take?
I'd plan on four to six full-length tests across your prep, with real review between them. College Board's 2025 study found students who took one, two, and three or more Bluebook tests scored about 26, 46 and 61 points higher than similar students who took none, but College Board says those numbers aren't causal, and the gains shrink for students who already score high. A test you don't review teaches you very little.
Princeton Review or Kaplan for the SAT?
For most students, Princeton Review. At similar live-class prices it comes with more practice: nine full-length tests on Essentials against Kaplan's four, and a larger question bank against Kaplan's roughly 500. Kaplan's live format is well reviewed, so if a particular class time or teacher suits you, that matters more than the spec sheet. I didn't take either class.
What do SAT score guarantees actually require?
More than the headline suggests. Most need a recent official score below a cutoff (1250, 1350 or 1400 depending on the company), every lesson or test in the program finished, and a retake inside a set window. Several refund only the course fee, and one caps the guaranteed score at 1450. Ours has conditions too: a starting score of 1400 or below (an official SAT, or a Bluebook practice test if you haven't taken it), at least 90 days before your test, and the practice in your plan done. Don't pick a course for its guarantee.
Find the question types costing you points
The free diagnostic is 16 questions and doesn't need an account.
Last updated September 2026.